Sunday, December 21, 2008

The moment approaches when the Truth will govern the world. Will you work to hasten its coming?

Barijhola, Rayagada, Orissa: Code : SAM. RAY. R64

23rd July 1970 was a memorable day for Rayagada when a Sri Aurobindo Study Circle was started in the residence of the then District Agriculture Officer, late Sri Mayadhar Singh.
In 1971, The Mother had given the following message specially for this centre. It reads as- “The moment approaches when the Truth will govern the world. Will you work to hasten its coming?
- The Mother

On 3rd December 1971 Prof. Prapatti had laid the foundation stone here for a sadhana kendra the land for which had been donated by Sri Trinath Dash. Later by the noble efforts of Sri Indramani Sahoo and Sri Lakshminarayan Sahoo the ‘Sri Aurobindo Society Centre’ took shape at Sri Aurobindo Nagar. This centrally placed sadhana kendra was later inaugurated by Sri Champaklal. Since 1984 onwards a Sri Aurobindo Integral Education Centre, Library, Sale Centre were organised.

The general Sri Aurobindo Study circle sittings are held every Sunday and Thursday from 7 to 8 pm. The Sri Aurobindo Mahila study circle is held from 4.30 to 5.30 pm on the same days. Apart from this Sri Aurobindo Students’ meets, SriAurobindo Teachers’ meets have been organised.

Due to lack of space a 4.6 acre land was acquired at the outskirts of the town near the village Barijhola as the main wing of Sri Aurobindo Society Centre - it has been named “Matru Bihar”. It is surrounded by a picturesque setting of green hills . The area itself is now embellished by flowers and fruit trees. It is here that the sacred Relics of Sri Aurobindo was enshrined on the 21st of December 2003 at 4p.m. by Prof Chhotenarayan Sharma from Sri Aurobindo Ashram, Pondicherry.

There is a residential school at Matrubihar. A dairy has been started. Those involved in the development of this centre are the inmates of the centre as well as Sri Nilakantha Dash, Sri Sahadev Chowdhury, Sri Lakshminarayan Sahoo , Sri Indramani Sahoo, Sri Madhusudan Sahoo, Ramesh Chandra Behera, Surendranath Mohanty, Shatrughna Dhal, Kedar Panda, Saroj Kanta Mishra, Pradeep Panigrahi, Manoj Pal, Satyabadi Pati, Nimai Behera and others. © 2005 Matrubhaban, Sri Aurobindo Marg, Cuttack-753013

No comments:

Post a Comment